#ESUSM

4 Apr

Earlier today my team presented our project in my social media class, #NewhouseSM4. Our presentation (#ESUSM) was all about social media and how it is best used for small businesses. Overall, I think it went really well. We probably could have integrated and/or intertwined our specific parts a bit but tther than that, a job well done.

First I wanted to talk about a collaboration tool I just used for the first time last night: G+ Hangouts.  My group members did a hangout with our professor, DR4Ward to discuss our presentation. I was more than impressed with the tool.

Image

G+ Hangout With Teaching Team #ESUSM - @DroMUSIC90 @JenFolger @jfwheeler2003 @DR4WARD

Yes, at first it looks exactly like Skype. And probably most people who aren’t collaborating or doing business type things will use it for solely video chatting. But the thing is, G+ hangouts offer so much more. Like Skype, you can screenshare with the people who are video chatting with. One of my teammates was talking about how key this would be for his company, a computer repair business.

Another thing that we did on G+ Hangouts last night was simultaneously view and edit our presentation together. This is much easier than having to email a presentation back and forth within your team. This tool also offers apps, one of them being YouTube. I found the YouTube video app really interesting. The Google + Hangout mutes everyone but the video, and has a “Push to Talk” button where people can interject occasionally while watching the video.

My team also collaborated using PearlTrees, yet another social media platform that I have learned about due to #NewhouseSM4. We were able to post interesting articles we found via our RSS feeds and blog subscriptions in an organized fashion. I think PearlTrees is starting to grow on me a bit after using it as a collaboration tool for this team project.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

After we did our presentation today in class, we ran some analytics on Hashtracking.com. Turns out we made about 120,000 impressions and reached over 19,000 followers. Couldn’t have done it without our classmates in #NewhouseSM4, following and tweeting along during our presentation. Thanks! I also completed a Storify story outlining the #ESUSM stream that was going on during the presentation.

Screenshot from my #ESUSM hashtracking report.

 

5 Responses to “#ESUSM”

  1. Alyssa Goldberg (@AlyssaNGoldberg) April 5, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    I was very intrigued by your team teaching presentation on social media and how it is best used in small businesses. It was interesting to learn that different team teaching presentations reached a different amount of followers and impression. #ESUSM reached 120,000 impressions and reached over 19,000 followers. I hope that my team #SM4geolocation can reach as many impressions and followers as your group did! #ESUSM did an excellent job and I recommend your group shows this project to future employees.

  2. Tandameshia Hastings (@Tandameshia) April 7, 2012 at 3:32 am #

    Thanks for your awesome presentation in #NewhouseSM4 and recapping the details in your blog.

    How exactly did you edit your PowerPoint during your Google+ hang out? I think my group might do that.

    • smwithjen April 7, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      You just have to upload your PowerPoint to Google Docs and then when you start the hangout, there’s a tab that says “Docs.” One person in the hangout opens it and everyone can view it together and edit it simultaneously. If you do the G+ Hangout with Dr. Ward, I’m sure he’ll explain it to you!

  3. laurietewksbury April 7, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    Really enjoyed your presentation this week. I liked how your polls continued throughout the presentation to kick off different focuses on the topic. Great job with the case studies as well. Glad you guys explained how several small businesses use social media to their benefit.

    Most small businesses that are using social media just use Facebook and twitter…in your opinion, which platform is the next best for small businesses?

    • smwithjen April 7, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      I think it really depends on the type of business. For example, Pinterest and Flickr are great for businesses that have “visual goods” and can share images of them. But if not, I think a Tumblr or any type of blog is a great tool that all small businesses can use to show their brand’s personality.

Leave a Reply

